Rise of the Magi Blog Tour:My #Review and a #Giveaway, too! @JocelynAdams, #UF, #LilaGray

Those of you who follow the blog regularly, know how much I have enjoyed the stories in Jocelyn Adams’ Lila Gray Urban Fantasy series. Well, today is the day I get to share my review of the last installment, RISE OF THE MAGI, which released from J. Taylor Publishing on June 4th.

It has been KILLING me to have to hold my tongue on what I thought about this final Lila Gray tale, but for all of us — the wait is finally over.

Excited, right? Yeah, me too!

Before I get to the actual review, here is a bit about the novel.

RiseOfTheMagi_Cover_500pxRise of the Magi
by Jocelyn Adams

Series: Lila Gray, book #3

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Publisher: J. Taylor Publishing

Release Date: June 4th, 2013

Keywords: fae, faeries, elves, selkies, fantasy, urban fantasy, romance, romantic, dryads, paranormal.

Blurb: In a battle of wills, who is strongest? The one who hates or the one who loves?

In a test of faith, who will fight the hardest? The one who has everything to lose or the one who believes only in herself?

For Lila Gray, the answer is both. For the Magi, the questions are pointless since they can’t lose, and they’ve been waiting since before Lila’s birth for this one moment. Lila only needs to find them to understand her entire purpose in life. This time, though, instead of protecting her people, Lila may be leading them all, including her unborn child and the man she loves, to their deaths — and not by accident.

In the ultimate trial of heart and soul, and the conclusion to the Lila Gray series, Lila will learn that the greatest weapon of war is herself, with one ultimate unknown. For which side will she fight?

Rise of the Magi on Goodreads:

Book Trailer:

 

You want it now, don’tcha? Don’t even need to read my review now. Do ya? It’s okay, you can admit it. *grins* I left the links below for you — you know, just in case I’m right.

BUY LINKS:

 Amazon.com | Barnes & Noble

For those of you who are still with me and not over at one of the above sites buying your copy…

My Review:

I’m going to start this review off by stating for the record, I consider the author, Jocelyn Adams a good friend. But, saying that, you should also understand she is one because I met her on a writing site and LOVED her stories, so started to post critiques of them on the site. We got to know each other and became friends, but I loved her stories first.

Now that we have that out of the way.

Rise of the Magi is the final installment of Ms. Adams’ Lila Gray stories, and while I have to say The Glass Man is still my favorite of the three novels in the series, Rise of the Magi comes a close second.  The series’ main character, Lila Gray has become one of my favorite literary heroines. I’m just a sucker for a tough female lead. Lila started out spunky in The Glass Man and that spirit and sarcastic determination is evident in the second book, Shadowborn. It still exists in this story.

I make it a point to not give spoilers in my review, so I won’t discuss the plot itself — as much as I want to. I will say I cried in some places, and for a book to get me that way doesn’t happen often.

I also have to say I am completely impressed by the authors ability to carry the tale through three novels and tie things up so succinctly at the end of it all. So many twists and turns, things I never saw coming, clues missed in Book #1 or Book #2 that gave me such “A-ha” moments while reading Rise of the Magi. I love when that happens.

The story is character rich and the “voice” is stellar.  I highly recommend the read, in fact, the whole Lila Gray series.

SkullCrossbones_IconSkullCrossbones_IconSkullCrossbones_IconSkullCrossbones_IconSkullCrossbones_Icon

5 Pirate Skulls from me for this wonderful, urban fantasy tale.

Oh! I almost forgot… I promised you all a giveaway. I can’t actually host the giveaway here on my free wordpress blog, so I have just given you the link below. Good luck!

RAFFLECOPTER GIVEAWAY

JocelynAdams (2)Author Bio:

Jocelyn Adams grew up on a cattle farm in Lakefield and has remained a resident of Southern Ontario her entire life, most recently in Muskoka. She has worked as a computer geek, a stable hand, a secretary, and spent most of her childhood buried up to the waist in an old car or tractor engine with her mechanically inclined dad. But mostly, she’s a dreamer with a vivid imagination and a love for fantasy (and a closet romantic — shhh!). When she isn’t shooting her compound bow in competition or writing, she hangs out with her husband and young daughter at their little house in the woods.

Links:

Website  | BlogFacebook  |  Twitter  |  Goodreads

About Rebecca Hart

Im a single parent of three and a published author of romance in all sorts of sub-genres. A full time IT geek, Managing Editor of Roane Publishing, cover artist and a reformed gaming addict -- I live to write fantasy peppered with a dash of romantic nonsense :P Addicted to all things pirates, penguins, Johnny Depp and rum. Follow me on Twitter: @Rebelhart69

Posted on June 17, 2013, in Blog Tours, Blogging, Book Reviews, Fiction, J. Taylor Publishing, Urban Fantasy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Great review. I feel entirely the same way about this author and book series. 🙂

  2. Yeah, this one made me tear-eyed too!!! Voice IS stellar.

  3. Thanks so much for hosting me today, my dear. You are far to kind to me, and it makes me smile all day long. 🙂

Leave a Reply

