Almost Tuesday #Teaser: Fate’s Voyage – A Call of the Sea Tale

Since I finished what I hope will be a follow-up FREE READ through my publisher, Inkspell, last night, and I have issues with starting another piece so quickly after finishing one, I thought I would stop by my poor neglected blog and share a tiny teaser from the story.

For those of you who are familiar with Daniel and Ellie, this probably doesn’t need too much set-up. The story takes place after  CALL OF THE SEA and is in Daniel’s POV.

pirate_ship_styleExcerpt:

After a moments hesitation to prepare himself for the whirlwind he called wife, Daniel twisted the handle and opened the cabin door.

Ellie came about with an eager look in her eyes. It disappeared as soon as her gaze caught on him.

“Expecting someone else?”

The sigh that blew past her kissable, pink lips screamed exasperation. Her hands found her hips, eyes narrowed. “Did you see my mother out there? Where’s Mac? Is he bringing the basin?”

Chuckling, Daniel stepped over the giant pile of clothing in the center of the room and gathered his rounded wife in his arms. He placed a gentle kiss on her furrowed forehead. “My love, why are you trying to drive your mother insane? We’ll need her midwifery skills when the babe comes.”

As it often did whenever she was within arms reach, his hand caressed the swell of her abdomen. Their child. “Can’t you play nice just a while longer? We should make berth in Port Royal within the week and we won’t need to worry about the babe coming while we are so far from adequate medical care.”

Ellie turned her sun freckled face upward, favoring him with a pretty pout. “She’s always hovering. Every time I turn around, there she is, scowling at me. It’s positively maddening. I’m a grown, married woman, Daniel. I don’t require a nursemaid.”

“You agreed to all this before we left, Ellie. Remember? For the good of the child.”

“I realize if I hadn’t dispatched with McTavish the way I had, they’d not be hunting a cabin boy named Ellis, and we’d be in Newquay awaiting the birth instead of trekking across an ocean while I’m on this condition with mother in tow. But being the size of a rum barrel doesn’t mean I’m completely useless, you know?”

“Nobody said you were useless, El. We just want to make sure you’re taking care of yourself. Not doing too much. Besides, it won’t be much longer. If the weather holds, we could even make port a day early.” Daniel brushed a flaming red tendril from her cheek and smiled, his heart bursting with love for his headstrong wife. His match in every way.


There you have it. I’m so much more excited about this story than I expected to be. I really do love it. Now, aren’t you all as excited for the release of this tale as I am?

Yes, I know I’m not exactly known for my patience. No need to remind me. 😛

Hope you all have a fantastic Tuesday!
~Rebecca

About Rebecca Hart

Im a single parent of three and a published author of romance in all sorts of sub-genres. A full time IT geek, Managing Editor of Roane Publishing, cover artist and a reformed gaming addict -- I live to write fantasy peppered with a dash of romantic nonsense :P Addicted to all things pirates, penguins, Johnny Depp and rum. Follow me on Twitter: @Rebelhart69

Posted on January 14, 2013, in Blogging, My Writing, Paranormal Romance and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

