Make Believe Blog Tour: An Interview with Contributing Author, Lynda R. Young

Welcome back for another posting for the MAKE BELIEVE (J. Taylor Publishing) Blog Tour. Today, we have Lynda R. Young with us for a little interview. Her story, < is part of the anthology. You can see my review of Lynda’s story, as well as the rest of the stories included in the anthology HERE.

First off, a big thank you to Lynda for taking the time  to stop in and visit with us today.

Now, on to the hard hitting interview questions… (not really)

Rebecca: Are you a pantser or a plotter?

Lynda: When I first started writing I fell in love with the romance of pantsing. I discovered the story and the characters as I wrote them. The romance faded when I realized how much I’d have to delete and edit and rewrite to get the stories even close to publishable. I’m now a plotter through and through.

Rebecca:  Do you have any writing rituals or special processes you complete before sitting down to write?

Lynda: I didn’t think I had any rituals, but now that I’m thinking about it, I tend to get a glass of water first, pat the cat, read my emails, then I’m set. I’ll go through the same ritual a number of times during the day.

Rebecca:  If you could only write in one genre for the rest of your career, what genre would you choose? Why?

Lynda: If I said the speculative genre, would that be cheating? Hehehe, I’m such a rebel. The reason I’d pick speculative is that it has so many sub-genres I’d never get bored! I love fantasy and science fiction equally as much, along with the majority of their sub-genres. There is such scope for stories there.

Rebecca:  I hear you there. I have a hard time pinning myself into a specific genre as well. Are any of your characters modeled after real people?  If so, which ones?

Lynda: My characters are never modeled after real people. Real people might inspire my work, but my characters tend to be a mish-mash created from real life, other stories, news reports, anywhere and everywhere.

 Rebecca:  I’m one of those writers who needs music to really get myself set to write. What music is on your playlist while writing your stories?

Lynda: The Dark Knight Soundtrack has been one of my favorites for a while now. It’s wonderfully emotive and keeps my fingers dancing across the keyboard. If I’m after something less robust, then I’ll listen to something from Enya or I’ll listen to Bali, an album by Jalan Jalan. It’s all instrumental so there aren’t any words to distract me from my writing.

Rebecca: Morning person or grumpy bear?

Lynda: I’m definitely not a morning person. Maybe that’s why I write best in the mornings. Leave me alone to my writing in the mornings, and the day is a good one—for everyone 😉

Rebecca: Sounds a bit familiar *grins* What is the one thing about the book publishing process that has surprised you the most?

Lynda: The amount of work required to get it right. I think being an author is one of the hardest jobs in the world. We might not get filthy, we might not get physically exhausted, but writing requires a level of mental endurance and persistence that’s close to herculean. It’s not a job that can be done in a half-hearted way.

Rebecca: So very true!! I’m curious. What group were you a part of in High School? Jocks? Nerds? Metal heads?

Lynda: I was a nerd. I loved my books and I loved my video games before they became cool to play.

Rebecca:  As a reformed gaming addict, I completely understand. Do you have any unique skills or talents? If so, what?

Lynda: I can be both really observant, yet completely oblivious. My friends tease me by saying they could drive a truck through the house and I wouldn’t notice. I call that a talent.

Rebecca: Coke or Pepsi?

Lynda: Neither, but it used to be coke. Put two teaspoons of sugar in coke and it tastes exactly like Pepsi. Shudder…

Rebecca: Nobody drinks soda nowadays. I’m starting to wonder how Coke and Pepsi stay in business. Let’s move to clothing…If I were to look in your closet right now, would I find frills and lace or demin and tees?

Lynda: You’d find both, but I’m mainly a denim and tee girl. I love to keep it simple.

A lady after my own heart, there. 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping in and chatting with us Lynda.


Here is the Back of the Book description of Lynda’s story, BIRTHRIGHT

BLURB: Christa can mask the pain and hide the scars, but running from a birthright is impossible. 

She’s tried to escape her grief by fleeing to a small town in Florida. Much to her frustration, the locals think they recognize her even though she’s never been there before. To make things worse, a man named Jack spouts outrageous theories about her.

Both spur Christa to bolt, to start fresh yet again, but there’s something about Jack that intrigues her enough to stay. The only problem? Someone else wants her to leave, and they won’t stop until she’s dead.

Author Bio:

Lynda lives in Sydney, Australia, with her sweetheart of a husband who is her rock, and a cat who believes world domination starts in the home. Lynda has an adventurous spirit and has traveled the world. As a chaser of dreams, she found success as a digital artist and an animator, and now as a writer of speculative short stories. She is currently writing novels for young adults. In her spare time she also dabbles in photography and all things creative.

Stalking Links:

Blog: http://lyndaryoung.blogspot.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LyndaRYoungAuthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/LyndaRYoung

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5832201.Lynda_R_Young

About Rebecca Hart

Im a single parent of three and a published author of romance in all sorts of sub-genres. A full time IT geek, Managing Editor of Roane Publishing, cover artist and a reformed gaming addict -- I live to write fantasy peppered with a dash of romantic nonsense :P Addicted to all things pirates, penguins, Johnny Depp and rum. Follow me on Twitter: @Rebelhart69

Posted on December 20, 2012, in Anthologies, Author Interview, Authors, Blog Tours, Blogging, Book Promotion, Fantasy, Fiction, J. Taylor Publishing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Way fun to read and learn more about Lyn and visit this blog! I agree about Coke/Pepsi/soda–I’m not a soda-drinking person. Thanks, Rebecca, for hosting. By the way, I also love the cover of CALL OF THE SEA! 🙂

  2. Thanks Rebecca for hosting me. The interview was loads of fun, full of interesting questions.

    Thanks, Carol, for popping over!! I really appreciate it!!

  3. off course, Lyndy is a plotter, that woman is always plotting something… if it’s not a world domination plan with her cat, then it’s a new pirate novel….

  4. Hi Rebecca! Hi Lynda! A great interview ladies. Yeah, who does drink soft drinks anymore? Must be someone out there!

  5. Forgot to say, WP uses my twitter to log me in. That account is now closed. My URL is:

    http://laussieswritingblog.blogspot.com

    should you wish to visit.

  6. Nice to meet you Lynda. Great interview! See you around the sphere. 🙂

  7. Great interview! I loved learning more about Lynda. I was always a nerd in school too. But I was never good at video games to my 8 year old son’s chagrin. Unfortunately, I think my dad and brother keep Coke and Pepsi in business.

  8. But what a cool nerd! We might’ve actually hung out together in high school. (And I can’t say that about many women!)

  9. Dezzy, you are getting to know me far too well! 😉

    Denise, thanks so much for popping over.

    Emaginette, thanks 🙂

  10. Enjoyed getting more info on you, Lynda!

  11. Kathy, us nerds need to stick together 😉

    Alex, yeah, I was a bit of an oddity. For a long while I thought there was something wrong with me because I liked all the stuff boys did for fun, rather than what all the girls did for fun. Shopping? Sun-baking? Pfft!

    Melissa, thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

