Blogging Ain’t for Sissies #blogging #writing #atozchallenge

Blogging is one of those subjects you hear a lot of chatter about in the writing community. You should do it, you shouldn’t. You have to post every day, once a week is fine… there are as many schools of thought as there are blogs, I think.

In my experience, I find that most authors either love it or absolutely hate it. It is one of those tasks that requires a healthy dose of dedication, and an even larger amount of organization. Time management skills help as well. (especially when you’re challenging yourself to 26 posts in a month)

When I first decided to create a blog–the first big step to creating the all important online presence and “brand”, I admit I was quite a bit intimidated. What would I say? Could I possibly say anything at all someone besides me would care to read, or dare I say, find interesting? What if nobody visited or commented. I would be left with a daily reminder of what an unpopular loser I was. Just what every confidence lacking aspiring author needs, right?

If I wanted to take my writing serious, build myself a platform to grow from, I needed to start blogging — so I took the leap. And, guess what? I didn’t fall on my face at all. My blog has a fair following, and I get to enjoy comments from friends and visitors on a regular basis. It has done wonders for that ailing confidence issue, and I find it also helps exercise the writing muscles (even if it isn’t my first true love — FICTION)

It has been two years now, and I am still blogging strong, and have even added a second blog for my erotica alter ego and for concentrating on Book Reviews and promoting my fellow authors.

The point to all this rambling nonsense? *crooks a finger, urging you closer*

You never know until you try. You just may find you are tougher than you thought, or better yet, that you were born to be a blogger.

Your comments and questions are always welcome 🙂

About Rebecca Hart

Im a single parent of three and a published author of romance in all sorts of sub-genres. A full time IT geek, Managing Editor of Roane Publishing, cover artist and a reformed gaming addict -- I live to write fantasy peppered with a dash of romantic nonsense :P Addicted to all things pirates, penguins, Johnny Depp and rum. Follow me on Twitter: @Rebelhart69

Posted on April 2, 2012, in A to Z Blogging Challenge 2012, Blogging, General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I’ve run 2 blogs for 4 years now— and it has been a rewarding experience in many different ways.

    Look forward to your challenge posts…

    –Damyanti, Co-host A to Z Challenge April 2012

    Twitter: @AprilA2Z
    #atozchallenge

  2. Looks like things are gong well due to our hard work! Keep it up and look forward to reading more of your A-Z posts…

  3. Great “B” post, it’s definitely not for sissies 🙂

  4. I myself have a few followers for my blogs, that thankfully now are more than ten fingers. I took the plunge in Blogging for that platform build as well. It’s been a slow grow, that’s why I tackled the A to Z Challenge (to challenge myself) and have found out this is actually way fun! I had my topics picked pretty quick and am having fun typing them up! I am now slowly getting followers and they are loving my crazy thoughts! So glad to hear I’m not alone and Rebecca, I love your posts!

    A dedicated follower,
    A.D.

  5. Great ‘B’ post. I don’t think I would have the patience or time for the A to Z challenge so lots of applause headed your way. I have to say I’ve felt all of these fears, that I wouldn’t write anything worth even a batted eye lash, that no one would bother to comment even if they did like what I wrote and I would get no followers. However, because of Agent Query Connect, and Novel Publicity I have followers, and some even care enough to view my posts and even comment now and then. I’m still starting out, but I’m loving it already. 😀

Leave a Reply

