Welcome 2012: Please Be Kind

The close of 2011 brings with it, the end of my first solid year of serious writing. It was a year that brought many firsts with it. Things like my first acceptance, my first publication — in both print and e-book — my first contest placement (2nd), which came with my first payment for a story.

Looking back, a lot more happened than I think I have realized before this moment. It was a ton of hard work and dedication to the actual writing process, but in return I’ve received validation, I’ve learned the ropes with respect to social media,  and actually managed to complete and start querying my first novel. Of course, this also led to more firsts, like my first real novel query letter, my first partial request, my first attempt at a synopsis, and my first rejection from an agent.

2011 also brought a great deal of good fortune to other writers I would call friends, despite our logistical distance from each other. Three launched debut novels this year, with another two to debut their novels this year. I know this is a cheesy line, but the honest truth is, their successes are my successes. I watched them strive toward their goals, sweat and worried alongside them, beta read for some, critiqued others, and in general just tried to support their efforts the same way I know they would mine when I get to their position.

Overall, just a stellar year to be writing.

As I embark on the beginning of 2012, I can only think of one thing to say to greet this new and hopefully exciting year.

BRING IT ON!

About Rebecca Hart

Im a single parent of three and a published author of romance in all sorts of sub-genres. A full time IT geek, Managing Editor of Roane Publishing, cover artist and a reformed gaming addict -- I live to write fantasy peppered with a dash of romantic nonsense :P Addicted to all things pirates, penguins, Johnny Depp and rum. Follow me on Twitter: @Rebelhart69

Posted on January 11, 2012, in General, My Writing, Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

