Nanowrimo, anyone?

November is fast approaching, and it is getting close to the chaos of Nanowrimo’s annual fiction writing event.  I participated last year, and did manage to get about 20k words done for what has become The Machenwood Chronicles (my current WIP).  Didn’t “win”, but in a way I did, since I did manage to get a good start on a story that I think has some great potential for publication down the road (like when I actually finish it).

I am planning to give it a go again this year, but working on something different–though I have literally no clue what at this point.  I have a few more weeks to come up with some sort of plotline.  Anyway, thinking about it got me curious.

Is anyone else planning on participating in Nanowrimo this year?

About Rebecca Hart

Im a single parent of three and a published author of romance in all sorts of sub-genres. A full time IT geek, Managing Editor of Roane Publishing, cover artist and a reformed gaming addict -- I live to write fantasy peppered with a dash of romantic nonsense :P Addicted to all things pirates, penguins, Johnny Depp and rum. Follow me on Twitter: @Rebelhart69

Posted on October 9, 2010, in My Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. hi Rebecca 🙂 *waves* i'm planning on doing nanowrimo as well this year. it will be my first try though. congrats on your 20k words last year 🙂 that's pretty amazing! best luck on it this year 😀

  2. Same to you 🙂 If you want to buddy up on the nano site, my name there is rebelhart69

    Let the madness begin 🙂

  3. I haven't decided yet. Last year I started and managed almost 40k before I couldn't take the pressure anymore. *grin* it's rather embarrassing to say “the end” so close to the finish line, but the story was taking on a complete mind of its own and it decided it wanted to be WAY longer that 50k. It's not the one I'm working on right now, but I can't wait to start working on it again. If I do Nano again this year I'll be working on a companion book to the one I did last year… not exactly a sequel because the characters will basically all be new, but it would be interesting to work on. However, I just really want to get my other WIP, Eldrei, finished so badly that I don't think I'll even try nano this year.

    Good luck with it though! *thumbs up* 😀

    Nichole

  4. I hear ya, Nichole. I thought about forgoing the whole thing this year, being I've had Machenwood on the brain for close to 6 months and it's still not close to half finished (12 chapters done, untold number to go).

    I have hit a bit of a plot wall with it and I am really hoping spending my energies elsewhere for a bit will help spark some new ideas.

Leave a Reply

