Next Big Thing Blog Hop: I’ve Been Nominated :) #WIP #writing

So, I was recently tagged by fellow author, Terri Rochenski in the Next Big Thing Blog Hop of sorts. This one is for your current WIP, so I thought it would be fun to try and answer the questions posed. On that note, you should stop by her blog and check out her post on Pool of Souls, a story I am lucky to be a beta reader for — You will love it!

So anyway, without any further ado and delay… here we go…

What is the working title of your book? 

Destiny’s Trial and Legend of the Mist

Where did the idea for the book come from?
The idea for this particular tale in what I hope to be a series, is an image file sent out by J.Taylor Publishing as a prompt for short story submissions. The picture got the mental juices going, as it was just perfect for the characters I had floating about in my head in a vague, shapeless form, and the basic premise of the story was born.
What genre does your book fall under?
Fantasy (Romance)
Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
That is a tough question to answer at this point in the process, but I guess for Jyslin (pronounced Jice-linn) I would have to go with Olivia Wilde. For Domnu, the male lead character the choice is a bit more difficult. He would have to be somewhat dark and sarcastic, sure of himself…hmmm.. for lack of a better pick at the moment, I will have to go with Colin Farrell — while I dont love him in general, he definitely has the right “look” to pull off Domnu.
What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?
Crap… hate doing these things…
Destiny can’t be outrun, but magic opens doors.
Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
I am hoping to ply an agent with the series once completed.
How long did it take to write the first draft of your manuscript?
Still working on that one. Not quite there yet, but Nano is around the corner!
What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
Well, the idea with this writing thing is to try to be original, so I hope it’s not like anything else. I will give you the pitch line I use for the series, though — that should work.
The Machenwood series is The Chronicles of Narnia meets Grimm’s Fairytales.
Who or what inspired you to write this book?
My endless love of all things fantasy, fairy tale and Brother’s Grimm.
What else about your book might pique the readers interest?
This story is definitely NOT your mother’s fairy tale. It is a bit dark, somewhat twisted and contorted and gives a whole new twist to age old characters.
Let’s see, now the fun part… nominating other writers to participate.
The nominees are:
Can’t wait to see what sorts of things they are working on :)
Thanks for stopping in. :)

About Rebecca Hart

Im a single parent of three and aspiring writer with a few publication credits at this point. A full time IT geek, and reformed gaming addict -- I live to write fantasy peppered with a dash of romantic nonsense :P

Posted on October 24, 2012, in Authors, Blogging, Fantasy, Fiction, My Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. NICE! Glad you took the challenge. Good luck w/ NaNo!

  2. Thanks for picking on me. Let’s see what I can do with it.

  3. Nice. I just got tagged in one of these this week. :)

  1. Pingback: Next Big Thing | My Crumbling Abode

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,961 other followers