Six Sentence Sunday: Who’s Afraid of the Big Bad Wolf? #sixsunday

Hello again and welcome back to the blog for another installment of Six Sentence Sunday. Thanks for stopping in :)

Today’s sample is from my current WIP, and what I hope will end up being my Nanowrimo project this year. The novel is a fantasy, and in this scene, Jyslin (Red) is letting the Lupine (wolf/human race) she just met, Domnu, know exactly how she feels about him. She doesn’t seem to be too intimidated, frankly. :P

Hope you enjoy.

“Domnu,” he offered. “Name’s Domnu.”

She showed no sign she’d heard him. “I assure you I’m no damsel, and do not require any rescuing today.”

Domnu lifted his shoulders in a shrug. “Suit yourself, Red.”

As always, your thoughts or comments on the above excerpt are welcome and appreciated. Be sure to click the banner at the top of the post and visit the other blogs participating in this week’s Six Sentence Sunday.

About Rebecca Hart

Im a single parent of three and aspiring writer with a few publication credits at this point. A full time IT geek, and reformed gaming addict -- I live to write fantasy peppered with a dash of romantic nonsense :P

Posted on October 7, 2012, in #sixsunday, Blogging, Fantasy, Fiction, My Writing, Six Sentence Sunday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Glad to see you back, and you know I love reds :) Looking forward to more.

  2. Ooh, interesting. Is this a Rebecca story or an R story?

  3. When it seems so casual, it never is. Fab 6.

  4. I sense tension already! Nice six.

    I’m also a NaNo participant. Have fun in November!

  5. I like feisty women and she is tough in a tough situation. Good six. Thanks.

  6. Casual shrug–love it, especially when you know there’s going to be more. Very nice!

  7. kimberlykcomeau

    I’m a little confused. Is there a third person in this scene that she’s talking to? I ask because you say she gave no indication that she’d heard him, but when she answers his question, she clearly has heard him.

    • I am only allowed to post 6 sentences, so she had been talking when he offered his name. She just continued taking as he if had not even bothered to give it. It is missing her little monologue preceeding his line.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,955 other followers